Call Support +91-85588-96644
TCY online


Sign Up

Please enter a Username or Email ID
Please enter a password
Keep me logged in
Please enter your name
Please enter your mobile number
You can't leave Captcha Code empty
By submitting this form, you agree to the Terms & Privacy Policy.

Sign Up via Facebook

Sign Up via Google

Sign Up via Twitter

Download Software
Tests given

Download TCY App

App Image


Jan 2020

Jan 31, 2020

Calcutta University Awards Doctor of Letters Degree to Abhijit Banerjee

  • Nobel laureate Abhijit Vinayak Banerjee was conferred the honorary Doctor of Letters (D.Litt.) by his alma mater Calcutta University at its annual conference in Kolkata.
  • Eminent astrophysicist J. V. Narlikar was conferred by Sir Asutosh Mookerjee Memorial Medal. Scientists Samir K Brahmachari, Arup Kumar Raychaudhuri, and Partha Pratim Majumder were bestowed the Sir Acharya Prafulla Chandra Ray Medal.

Jan 29, 2020

Assam Tableau Won First Prize at 71st Republic Day Parade

  • Defence Minister Rajnath Singh gave away Best Tableaux awards for Republic Day Parade 2020. The event took place in New Delhi.
  • Assam's tableau, which portrayed the unique craftsmanship and culture of the state chosen as the best tableau, followed by Odisha and Uttar Pradesh tied for the second position. The Assam tableau showcased various dance forms of the country, especially the Bhortal dance of Assam.

Jan 28, 2020

Padma Awards Announced on Republic Day

  • The Government of India announced 141 Padma Awards on the occasion of 71st Republic Day celebrations.

    List of Padma Vibhushan 2020 winners
  • These include George Fernandes (Posthumous), Arun Jaitley (Posthumous), former Prime Minister of Mauritius Anerood Jugnauth, Mary Kom, Chhannulal Mishra, Sushma Swaraj (posthumous) and Pejavara Adhokhaja Matha Udupi (Posthumous).
  • List of Padma Bhushan 2020 Winners
  • Winners of this year's Padma Bhushan award are - M. Mumtaz Ali, Muazzam Ali (posthumously), Muzaffar Hussain Baig, Ajay Chakraborty, Manoj Das, Balakrishna Doshi, Krishnammal Jagannathan, Former Nagaland Chief Minister SC Jamir, Uttarakhand's well-known environmentalist and social worker Dr. Anil Prakash Joshi, Dr. Tsering Landol, eminent industrialist Anand Mahindra, Neelakanta Ramakrishna Madhava Menon (Posthumous), former Union Minister Manohar Parrikar (Posthumous), Prof. Jagdish Seth, Olympian badminton player P. V. Sindhu and industrialist Venu Srinivasan.
  • List of Padma Shri 2020 Winners
  • Guru Shashadhar Acharya,Dr. Yogi Aeron,Jai Prakash Agarwal, Jagdish Lal Ahuja Social Work Punjab, Kazi Masum Akhtar, Gloria Arieira, Khan Zaheerkhan Bakhtiyarkhan, Padmavathy Bandopadhyay, Dr. Sushovan Banerjee, Dr. Digambar Behera, Dr. Damayanti Beshra, Pawar Popatrao Bhaguji, Himmata Ram Bhambhu, Sanjeev Bikhchandani, Gafurbhai M. Bilakhia, Bob Blackman,Indira P. P. Bora, Madan Singh Chauhan among others.

Jan 27, 2020

President's Medals for Service, Gallantry

  • Eleven officers of the Delhi Fire Services (DFS) were awarded on Republic Day.
  • According to DFS director Atul Garg, who won the President's fire service medal for distinguished service, only once in the past have there been so many awards for gallantry among the city's fire officers on Republic Day. "We won 11 awards in 2017 as well. But this time we won five medals for gallantry, unlike in 2017, when we won four.
  • The President's fire service medal for gallantry is awarded to those fire service officers who have displayed bravery while dealing with fire situations.
  • This year, late fireman Vijender Pal Singh has been conferred the award posthumously. Vijender Pal died in a cylinder blast while fighting a fire in an industrial area along Rohtak Road in Delhi in May 2017.
  • Assistant divisional officer Avtar Singh too received the gallantry award for the same incident.
  • Three other officers, Anil Kumar, Ram Kumar and Arvind Dagar were among the recipients of the gallantry award for their role in saving 13 people from a burning building in Masudabad in outer Delhi in October 2017.
  • Director Garg and deputy chief fire officer Virendra Singh were awarded the President's fire service medal for distinguished service.

Bembem Devi Delighted with Padma Shri Recognition

  • Former India captain Oinam Bembem Devi is one of the recipients of the Padma Shri award this year (2020).
  • A flag-bearer of Indian women's football for over two decades, Bembem was also conferred with the Arjuna award in 2017.
  • Making her National debut at the age of 15, she donned the National colours until 2016. She won three SAF Cup titles (2010, 2012, and 2014) and two South Asian Games gold medals (2010, 2016).
  • Bembem is also a two-time AIFF Women's Player of the Year (2001, 2013).
  • In 2018, Bembem led Eastern Sporting Union to the final of the Indian Women's League as a coach.
  • In 2019, she coached the under-17 side Cheetahs in the Women's Championship held in West Bengal.

Billie Eilish Sweeps the Board at the 2020 Grammys

  • Pop star Billie Eilish swept the board at the 2020 Grammys, winning five awards, including best new artist and song of the year.
  • The 18-year-old also won album of the year for her debut, When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go.
  • She replaced Taylor Swift as the youngest person ever to win the award.
  • Eilish triumphed in all of the Grammys "big four" marquee categories - song of the year, record of the year, album of the year and best new artist.
  • Her elder brother, Finneas O'Connell, also picked up producer of the year for his work on Eilish's album.
  • Other big winners included Lil Nas X, who won video of the year for Old Town Road, and Lizzo, who scooped three prizes including best pop solo performance for her breakout hit, Truth Hurts.

Jan 26, 2020

Bose Award for Disaster Mitigation to Uttarakhand Organisation

  • The Disaster Mitigation and Management Centre in Uttarakhand and former IPS officer K M Singh have been selected for the Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar for their commendable work in disaster management.
  • While the Disaster Mitigation and Management Centre in Uttarakhand, an organisation working in the field of natural calamity relief, has been selected in the institution category and will be given a certificate and a cash prize of Rs 51 lakh, Singh, who has been working in the same area, has been selected for the individual category and will be given Rs 5 lakh along with a certificate.
  • The award is given in order to recognise the excellent work done by individuals and institutions in the country in the field of disaster management.
  • The award is announced every year on January 23, the birth anniversary of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose.
  • The award scheme for the year 2020 was given wide publicity, and nominations for the award were solicited from August 1 last year onwards.
Share on

Remedial Testing

Know where you stand and
what next to do to succeed

Personalised Learning

Generate your own test

Peer Benchmarking

Challenge and quiz
based activities

Keep Yourself updated on Latest PTE Exam Pattern

Avail Free Topic-wise Tests and various other offers.