Call Support +91-85588-96644
TCY online


Sign Up

Please enter a Username or Email ID
Please enter a password
Keep me logged in
Please enter your name
Please enter your mobile number
You can't leave Captcha Code empty
By submitting this form, you agree to the Terms & Privacy Policy.

Sign Up via Facebook

Sign Up via Google

Sign Up via Twitter

Download Software
Tests given

Download TCY App

App Image

PERSONS IN NEWS - December 2019

Dec 2019

Dec 31, 2019

Footballer Dhanarajan Dies

  • Footballer Dhanarajan Radhakrishnan, who represented Kolkata heavyweights Mohun Bagan and East Bengal, died while playing a match in Perintalmanna, Kerala after reportedly suffering a cardiac arrest.
  • Radhakrishnan who began his career at erstwhile Chirag United, played professional football for 11 years. Besides being part of Mohun Bagan and East Bengal, he has also represented Mohammedan Sporting from 2012-14.

Bipin Rawat India's First Tri-Service Chief

  • Army chief, General Bipin Rawat, who was due to retire after serving three years as Chief of Army Staff (COAS), assumed charge as India's first Chief of Defence Staff (CDS).
  • The day before Rawat's retirement, the defence ministry announced that the Government decided to appoint General Bipin Rawat as the Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) with effect from 31.12.2019 and until further orders and extension in service of Rawat.
  • With Rawat elevated to the post of CDS, Lieutenant Gen Manoj Mukund Naravane will take over as COAS.

Dec 30, 2019

Pejavara Mutt's Chief Vishwesha Teertha Swami Dies

  • The head of the Sri Pejavara Adhokshaja Mutt, Vishwesha Teertha Swami, died in Karnataka's Udupi after battling ill health for the past few days. He was 88.
  • Doctors at the Kasturba Hospital, where he was in the intensive care unit (ICU) since he was hospitalised on December 20 after developing breathing difficulties, had said that his condition was very critical. They had also said that there was a further decline in his condition.
  • "Pejavara Mutt Seer Vishwesha Teertha Swami ji passed away at 9:30am. His mortal remains will be kept at Ajjarakadu Mahatma Gandhi Maidan for three hours, where he'll be given state honours. CM BS Yediyurappa will be coming there." Udupi legislator K. Raghupati Bhat was quoted as saying.

Hemant Soren Back as Jharkhand Chief Minister

  • Mamata Banerjee, Ashok Gehlot, Tejaswi Yadav, Sitaram Yechury, Stalin, Kanimozhi among those who attended Hemant Soren's swearing-in ceremony
  • Hemant Soren, executive president of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, was sworn in as the 11th Chief Minister of Jharkhand at the Morabadi Ground in Ranchi.
  • Governor Draupadi Murmu administered the oath to Mr. Soren, while three others, two MLAs from the Congress and one from the Rashtriya Janata Dal, were inducted into the Ministry.
  • The 44-year-old JMM leader took over as Chief Minister of tribal-dominated Jharkhand for the second time. He was deputy Chief Minister in the Arjun Munda Ministry in 2010 and went on to become Chief Minister in 2013.

Veteran Political Cartoonist Vikas Sabnis Passes Away

  • Veteran Political cartoonist Vikas Sabnis passed away last night in Mumbai due to cardiac arrest. He was 69. He was unwell and undergoing treatment since last few days. His last rites will be performed in Mumbai this morning.
  • He had completed 50 years of illustrious career in 2018. Inspired by Bal Thackeray and RK Laxman, he had started his career in 1968. Since then, for over 50 years, Sabnis has worked as a staff cartoonist at various newspapers, including the Times of India and the Mid-day.
  • He made caricatures and political cartoons on various subjects and issues. These range from local to international levels.

Dec 29, 2019

Kashmir Gets New IGP

  • Kashmir's inspector general of police (IGP), Swayam Prakash Pani was transferred while Vijay Kumar was brought in his place. Pani has been posted as IGP Armed in place of Kumar. Kumar who joined IPS in 1997, has been serving in the Armed wing since June 2019. Pani had joined as the youngest IGP of J&K in February 2008 after serving as DIG, south Kashmir. He has been a key officer to fight militancy in Kashmir. He remained IGP during the operation all out launched against militants by the security agencies as well as during the period after the nullification of special status of J&K. Muneer Ahmad Khan, additional director general of police(ADGP) law and order and security has been given additional charge of director SSG, J&K.

Dec 28, 2019

Uniqlo Founder Yanai Leaves SoftBank Board

  • Fast Retailing Co. chief executive officer Tadashi Yanai is leaving SoftBank Group Corp.'s board after more than 18 years as one of the few directors with the heft to challenge Masayoshi Son. Yanai, Japan's richest man, will step down on December 31. He is leaving the post to focus on running his own business. The founder of fashion chain Uniqlo has served as a SoftBank board member since June 2001.

'Hello, Dolly!' Composer Dies

  • Tony Award-winning composer Jerry Herman, who wrote the cheerful, good-natured music and lyrics for such classic shows as "Mame," "Hello, Dolly!" and "La Cage aux Folles," died.
  • The creator of 10 Broadway shows and contributor to several more, Herman won two Tony awards for best musical: Hello, Dolly! in 1964 and La Cage aux Folles in 1983. He also won two Grammys, for the Mame cast album and Hello, Dolly! as song of the year.

Dec 27, 2019

Hemant Soren to Take Oath as Jharkhand CM on December 29

  • Jharkhand Governor Droupadi Murmu will administer the oath of office to chief minister-designate Hemant Soren at 2 pm on December 29.
  • Chief Secretary DK Tiwari called on Soren at his Kanke Road residence during the day and handed him the invitation for the ceremony.
  • The JMM-Congress-RJD alliance stormed to power in Jharkhand on December 23, ousting the BJP in yet another state in the Hindi heartland after the saffron party's stupendous performance in the Lok Sabha elections.
  • The three-party alliance bagged 47 seats in the 81-member state Assembly. The JMM won 30 seats, Congress 16 and the RJD one.
  • JVM(P), with its three MLAs, has extended 'unconditional support' to Soren to form the government. The BJP clinched 25 seats, AJSU Party two, the CPI-ML(Liberation) and the NCP one each and others two.
Share on

Remedial Testing

Know where you stand and
what next to do to succeed

Personalised Learning

Generate your own test

Peer Benchmarking

Challenge and quiz
based activities

Keep Yourself updated on Latest PTE Exam Pattern

Avail Free Topic-wise Tests and various other offers.