Call Support +91-85588-96644
TCY online


Sign Up

Please enter a Username or Email ID
Please enter a password
Keep me logged in
Please enter your name
Please enter your mobile number
You can't leave Captcha Code empty
By submitting this form, you agree to the Terms & Privacy Policy.

Sign Up via Facebook

Sign Up via Google

Sign Up via Twitter

Download Software
Tests given

Download TCY App

App Image

SPORTS - May 2019

May 2019

May 31, 2019

ISSF World Cup

  •  India won both the gold medals on offer, and bagged a silver, in mixed team events on the final day of competition to finish the ISSF World Cup in Munich with a staggering five gold medals, their best performance in a World Cup.
  •  the 10m air rifle event saw two Indian teams pitted against each other for the gold medal match-up. Anjum Moudgil and 17-year-old Divyansh Singh Panwar defeated Apurvi Chandela and Deepak Kumar with a comprehensive 16-2 margin.
  • The Belarusian pair of Maria Martynova and Ilia Charheika won a thrilling bronze-medal match against Austrian Olivia Hofmann and Alexander Schmirl 16-14.
  • It was the second successive World Cup gold for Anjum and Divyansh, who had taken the top spot in Beijing too.
  • The two shot a combined 631.9 to top the eight-team standings in the first stage of the finals. Apurvi and Deepak were in second spot with an effort of 630.2.
  • Saurabh Chaudhary and Manu Bhaker continued to dominate the 10m mixed team air pistol event, winning gold in all three World Cups this year.
  • The teenagers topped in the New Delhi and Beijing World Cups, and also won the Asian Airgun Championships in Chinese-Taipei for four gold medals this season.
  • Manu and Saurabh were on target right from round one, topping the 76-team field with a score of 586 and then consolidating in round two with 591. Saurabh shot a 100 in his last series.
  • India topped the overall medals tally with five gold medals and one silver, leaving behind China at second place with nine medals — two gold, two silver and five bronze medals.
  • Apurvi Chandela (10m air rifle women), Rahi Sarnobat (25m pistol women) and Saurabh Chaudhary (10m air pistol men) had won individual gold medals.

Yennaris becomes China's first naturalised player

  •  Former Arsenal and Brentford midfielder Nico Yennaris has become the first overseas-born player to be called up for the China national team after he was included in Marcello Lippi's squad for upcoming friendlies against the Philippines and Tajikistan.
  • Yennaris, known as Li Ke in China, was born and grew up in England and is eligible to play for China through his mother, who was born in the country.
  • The 26-year-old signed for Chinese Super League side Beijing Guoan in January and has been granted Chinese citizenship, making him eligible for selection by Lippi as the Italian seeks to boost the fortunes of the country's struggling national team.
  • Yennaris' inclusion marks a significant shift in policy by the Chinese Football Association, which had previously resisted calls to include naturalised players in the national set-up despite it being common practice in many other countries.

First Spinner to Bowl the First Over in a World Cup

  •  South Africa's Imran Tahir became the first spinner to bowl the first over in a World Cup.
  • In the 1992 World Cup, New Zealand off-spinner Dipak Patel had bowled the second over in the match against Australia.
  • Tahir also became the oldest South African to play in a World Cup match. The previous record was held by his compatriot Omar Henry.

May 30, 2019

ICC World Cup 2019-05-30

  • The 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup is the 12th edition of the Cricket World Cup, scheduled to be hosted by England and Wales, from 30 May to 14 July 2019.
  • The hosting rights were awarded in April 2006, after England and Wales withdrew from the bidding to host the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup, which was held in Australia and New Zealand. The first match will be played at The Oval while the final will be played at Lord's. It is the fifth time that the Cricket World Cup will be held in England and Wales, following the 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999 World Cups.
  • The format for the tournament will be a single group of 10 teams, with each team playing the other nine once, and the top four at the end of the group phase progressing to the semi-finals.

Manu Wins Olympic Quota

  • Manu Bhaker missed a medal by 0.1 point but captured the Olympic quota place in women's air pistol in the shooting World Cup.
  • Despite shooting a 10.3 Manu was overtaken by eventual gold medalist Anna Korakaki of Greece.
  • Manu's quota is India's seventh for Tokyo 2020, behind Anjum Moudgil, Apurvi Chandela, Saurabh Chaudhary, Divyansh Singh Panwar, Abhishek Verma and Rahi Sarnobat.

AITA Championship Series Under-12 Tennis Tournament

  • Unseeded Mrinalika Swami knocked out top seed Snighda Ruhil in the girls' semifinals of the AITA Championship series under-12 tennis tournament at the Modern School courts.
  • Boys (semifinals): Ashravya Mehra defeated Yatharth Paliwal; Raunak Kashyap defeated Aaditya Singh Jadon. Quarterfinals: Yatharth Paliwal defeated Tavish Pahwa; Aashravya Mehra defeated Tanmay Tomar; Aaditya Singh Jadon Singh defeated Shourya Kumar; Raunak Kashyap defeated Jefrey Khushwin.
  • Girls (semifinals): Mrinalika Swami defeated Snighda Ruhil; Pehal Khardkar defeated Vanshika Jain. Quarterfinals: Snigdha Ruhil defeated Sharmin Dalal; Mrinalika Swami defeated Kum Kum Kumari; Pehal Khardkar defeated Swasti Singh; Vanshika Jain defeated Sirisha Dheer.

Pakistan Awarded 2020 Asia Cup

  • The next edition of the Asia Cup could also be UAE-bound with Pakistan given the hosting rights of the tournament in 2020, as organising it in its own country will cast serious doubts on India's participation owing to diplomatic tensions.
  • The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) in its meeting in Singapore awarded the continental meet, to be held in T20 format, to Pakistan, which will most likely organise it in the neutral venues of the United Arab Emirates.
  • Last year the Board of Control for Cricket in India hosted the Asia Cup in UAE because of the political tensions between Pakistan and India.

May 29, 2019

KSSC Gets New President

  •  The Kerala government cleared the appointment of Olympian Mercy Kuttan as the new president of the Kerala State Sports Council (KSSC).
  • Kuttan is the third woman president of the apex body of sport in Kerala, following the footsteps of Padmini Thomas and Anju Bobby George.
  • She got Kerala its first ever yellow metal in the women's section in long jump at the 1991 Asian Athletics Championships in Lahore.

May 28, 2019

Petra Kvitova Withdraws from French Open

  •  Petra Kvitova withdrew from the French Open due to an injury to her forearm, hours before her first match at the tournament against Romania's Sorana Cirstea.
  • The Czech player has been replaced in the draw by lucky loser Kaja Juvan of Slovenia.

May 27, 2019

Apurvi Shoots Gold for India

  •  Apurvi Chandela held her own against two Chinese shooters breathing down her neck to win a gold medal in the women's 10m air rifle at the ISSF Munich World Cup.
  • Chandela shot 251.0 in the 24-shot final, staving off the challenge of Wang Luyao who scored 250.8. Apurvi was ahead by 0.1 point with the last shot remaining, in which she fired 10.4 to Wang's 10.3.
  • This was world No. 1 Chandela's second ISSF World Cup gold in 2019.
  • She had already earned a quota for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics during the World Championships in Changwon in 2018 with a fourth-place finish.
Share on

Remedial Testing

Know where you stand and
what next to do to succeed

Personalised Learning

Generate your own test

Peer Benchmarking

Challenge and quiz
based activities

Keep Yourself updated on Latest PTE Exam Pattern

Avail Free Topic-wise Tests and various other offers.